There is a new fireworks law in Ohio. What do I need to know?

HUDSON, OH (June 22, 2022) – With the passage of Ohio House Bill 172 which goes into effect on July 1, 2022, Ohioans can legally discharge 1.4G consumer fireworks in Ohio. However, discharge is only permitted on specific days and only at specific times. On June 21, 2022, Hudson City Council passed Ordinance No. 22-70 that aligns the City of Hudson fireworks regulations with the State’s new fireworks law. 

Under Ohio’s previous fireworks law, individuals could purchase consumer-grade fireworks in Ohio but had to transport them out of state within 48 hours.

What are 1.4G Fireworks?

Formerly known as Class C common fireworks, items classified as 1.4G explosives are consumer fireworks intended for use by the general public.

When can Hudson residents discharge fireworks? 

Individuals can discharge 1.4G consumer fireworks only from 4 p.m. until 11 p.m. (per HB 172) on the following dates: 

  • July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays immediately preceding and following July 4th
  • Labor Day weekend - First Monday in September and the preceding Saturday and Sunday
  • Diwali - The actual day of only – Not the 5 days that it is celebrated
  • New Year’s Eve (4 p.m. - 11:59 p.m.)
  • New Year’s Day (also 12 a.m. - 1 a.m.) + (4 p.m. - 11 p.m.)
  • Chinese New Year 
  • Cinco de Mayo 
  • Memorial Day weekend – Last Monday in May and the preceding Saturday and Sunday
  • Juneteenth  

Fireworks are not permitted in Hudson on any date not listed above.

Where can consumers discharge fireworks?

Consumers can discharge 1.4G consumer fireworks on their own property or on another person’s property with that person’s permission. 

What fireworks can consumers discharge?

Consumers (Ohio residents and non-residents) can only discharge 1.4G consumer grade fireworks that were purchased in Ohio from an Ohio licensed fireworks sale location. Consumers are not allowed to purchase or discharge 1.3G display grade fireworks. 

Fireworks must be discharged responsibly. 

No person can use fireworks while in possession or control of, or under the influence of, any intoxicating liquor, beer, or controlled substance. A person who violates this is guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor. 

What laws and rules apply?

State law rules how 1.4G consumer fireworks must be used and stored by consumers. Some provisions in the rules include:

  • No person under the age of 18 is permitted to handle or discharge fireworks.
  • Persons under the age of 18 cannot be within 150 feet of the discharge point of aerial fireworks.
  • Aerial devices cannot be discharged within 150 feet of spectators (this includes aerial shells, roman candles, cakes, and bottle rockets).
  • Non-aerial devices cannot be discharged within 50 feet of spectators (this includes fountains, firecrackers, and ground effect devices).
    • Note: These separation distances – for both aerial and non-aerial devices – are increased for certain types of occupancies such as hospitals, schools, healthcare and residential facilities, apartment and multi-tenant buildings, military installations, and railroads.
  • No person can store more than 125 pounds (net weight pyrotechnic composition) of fireworks unless they have additional safety measures and safeguards in place for such storage.
  • Fireworks cannot be discharged indoors.
  • Fireworks cannot be aimed at or discharged towards any person or object (such as buildings).
  • Fireworks cannot be discharged on public property or private school property.
  • Fireworks cannot be discharged if drought conditions exist or in an area where a red flag warning is in place or a weather hazard exists.

More information about HB 172 and new Ohio fireworks regulations can be found at Here is a link to the specific page:

Show All Answers

1. Should I call 911 to report a power outage?
2. Can HPD help with lost / found animals?
3. There is a new fireworks law in Ohio. What do I need to know?
4. When should I call 911? When should 911 not be used?
5. What should I do if I call 911 by accident?
6. When I call 911 from a cell phone, will the dispatcher know my exact location?
7. If I observe suspicious behavior or circumstances, what should I do?
8. Is there a curfew in Hudson?
9. Is there a noise ordinance in Hudson?
10. Does the City of Hudson have Animal Control?
11. Will the Hudson Police Department check on my house while I am out of town?
12. Will the Hudson Police Department assist me if I lock my keys in my car?
13. Are permits required to solicit in Hudson?