Metro SWAT Team

Metro SWAT has been in existence since 1990. Hudson Township Police was a charter member and once the City and township merged, the City of Hudson continued its association. Each jurisdiction contributes personnel based on the city’s population. Currently, the Hudson Police Department has four tactical members on the team. There are 18 participating departments in Summit and Portage Counties. Metro SWAT also maintains mutual aid agreements with four other area SWAT teams in case there is a prolonged or highly involved operation where relief or operational assistance is needed.

The organization maintains five specialized vehicles: van, equipment vehicle (squad), BearCat (armored vehicle), a command post vehicle and a negotiator vehicle. Since inception, Metro SWAT has been activated over 400 times to assist participating agencies in their time of need. Metro SWAT not only trains and performs high risk operations such as warrant services, barricaded subjects and hostage rescue, but is also capable of performing area searches for lost people or evidence, disaster security, crowd control and riot response. Members are trained in a variety of firearms and several less lethal devices. 

There are specialized units within the organization: negotiators, precision rifle, explosive entry and medical. Each tactical member trains 22 days per year which is set in advance. To date, there are 48 team members. 

  • 29 tactical officers (3 are Hudson Officers)
  • 7 Negotiators
  • 9 Medical
  • 3 Technical Support

Contact Us

  1. Hudson Police Department: 36 S. Oviatt Street, Hudson, OH, 44236 
    Non-Emergency: (330) 342-1800 | Emergency: 9-1-1
    Administrative Hours: M - F | 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.